It is currently 28 Jun 2017, 02:54



Closed Captioning

Moderators: Macey, Jonas Hummelstrand, didikunz

Closed Captioning

Postby jackreynolds » 06 Oct 2016, 15:44

So I know that there is another thread like this (something about a station in Alaska) but I'm gonna open a new thread just asking about closed captioning. We don't have pre made scripts for any live shows, but we would still like to be able to add CC. I know that CC is more of an American standard, however would it be possible to make a client that:

1. You transcribe the anchor's words into a text field.
2. The system loads that text into a flash template that only displays words.
3. The system refreshes the screen output once every three seconds or so and deletes what was already shown.

Could this be a viable solution? Does anyone know of any better ways?

Thanks
jackreynolds
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 02 Nov 2015, 18:02
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Closed Captioning

Postby didikunz » 06 Oct 2016, 16:42

jackreynolds wrote:1. You transcribe the anchor's words into a text field.
2. The system loads that text into a flash template that only displays words.
3. The system refreshes the screen output once every three seconds or so and deletes what was already shown.


AFAIK that is caled open captioning, as it's burnt into the video. Closed captioning is hidden in a invisible TV line and extracted and inserted in the TV receiver, similar to Teletext in Europe.

But if open captioning is ok for you, this kind of client can be made. At least step 2 and 3. Step 1 would need to be done manually by somebody, that can type very fast, automatic speach to text would be too unreliable, I guess.
Didi Kunz
CasparCG Client-Programmer, Template Maker & Live CG-Operator
Media Support, CH-5722 Gränichen, Switzerland http://mediasupport.ch/
Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
User avatar
didikunz
 
Posts: 3479
Joined: 10 May 2010, 09:08
Location: Aarau, Switzerland

Re: Closed Captioning

Postby jackreynolds » 06 Oct 2016, 21:34

For our purposes, burnt into the video will be good. If we can get this implemented we'll look into building something like this, thanks.
jackreynolds
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 02 Nov 2015, 18:02
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Closed Captioning

Postby Rom1 » 07 Oct 2016, 12:37

Hi, did you see this interesting post ?

http://casparcg.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4068
User avatar
Rom1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 21 May 2015, 19:00

Re: Closed Captioning

Postby didikunz » 10 Apr 2017, 13:18

RomalaG.Lom wrote:Whenever i try and load it up...i get to the splash screen and just as its about to load INTO the game, it errors and crashes. No message as to what causes it..just crashes. Any ideas?


What do you refere to? What is "it"?
Didi Kunz
CasparCG Client-Programmer, Template Maker & Live CG-Operator
Media Support, CH-5722 Gränichen, Switzerland http://mediasupport.ch/
Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
User avatar
didikunz
 
Posts: 3479
Joined: 10 May 2010, 09:08
Location: Aarau, Switzerland


Return to General discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest