It is currently 24 Jun 2017, 18:11

Text autofollow

Videos, graphics, Flash templates – how to create and play them using CasparCG

Moderators: Macey, Jonas Hummelstrand, didikunz

Text autofollow

Postby Monden » 20 Mar 2017, 10:53

I am a beginner in using CasparCG, so please don't mind if I ask something that is elementary. I have a problem when running the flash template in CasparCG. The code presented below is suppose to create an autofollow effect for the text. The request is to have a Movie Clip (it has to be a Movie Clip for the fading effect) containing three dynamic text fields (which I created as a symbol) which should be centered inside of it. This works fine in Flash, but during flash template generating, it seems that text width becomes an absolute value, so when I input different text for the text fields in CasparCG, the text does not align correctly. I guess it has something to do with the definition of variables, functions and classes.

Code: Select all
 brojdresa.x = blanko.x + 438 - (brojdresa.textWidth + ime.textWidth + prezime.textWidth + 2 * blanko.textWidth)/2;
      ime.x = brojdresa.x + brojdresa.textWidth + blanko.textWidth;
      prezime.x = brojdresa.x + brojdresa.textWidth + blanko.textWidth + ime.textWidth + blanko.textWidth;
Monden

Re: Text autofollow

Postby didikunz » 20 Mar 2017, 12:32

Iguess the problem could be, that a fields textWidth property does NOT return it's contents size, but the size it has been created inside the designer. So if your field has a width of say 600px it will return 600px. The trick here is to make the field as small as possible and set the fields autoSize property to TextFieldAutoSize.LEFT; That makes the field adapt it's width to the containing text.
Didi Kunz
CasparCG Client-Programmer, Template Maker & Live CG-Operator
Media Support, CH-5722 Gränichen, Switzerland http://mediasupport.ch/
Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
didikunz

Postby Monden » 20 Mar 2017, 13:52