It is currently 26 May 2017, 23:43



Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

CasparCG Server, Client and development

Moderators: Macey, Jonas Hummelstrand, didikunz

Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Vojsooo » 07 Nov 2016, 12:35

Dears,
I saw few topics about rackmount solutions for CasparCG. Many of you is looking for 1U solution, for example. I would like to share my experience with Supermicro server. We bought this server for our lab. We are still testing lot of hardware which can be used for CasparCG. The tests with this specific server are succesfull, till today.
Our configuration:
Chassis: SC113TQ-600WB (https://www.supermicro.com/products/chassis/1U/113/SC113TQ-600W.cfm?parts=SHOW#jump) (8x Hot-swap 2.5" SAS/SATA HDD bays)
Dimensions: Height 43mm, Width 437mm and Depth is 597mm.
Motherboard: X10SRW-F ( https://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/xeon/c600/X10SRW-F.cfm )
Processor: Intel Xeon E5-1620 v4 3,5Ghz
RAM: 2x 8GB DDR4 ECC
HDD: 2x Intel SSD 800GB Raid 0 (0,1,5,10 are supported on motherboard, hw raid)
GPU: Quadro K2200 (on the pictures is GeForce 210, just for few tests, but it is working)
SDI Card: Blackmagic decklink 4K Extreme (next week we will start the tests with Quad2 and then Bluefish Supernova)
LAN: 2x Intel LAN I350 (teaming is possible)
On motherboard is also COM port.

About power supply redundancy. This specific chassis is supporting just one power supply (I hope :) ). But they have some others which are able to have 2 power supplies.

It is looking very cool, the SDI outputs (Fill and Key) are working fine without problem.
Bellow you can see the pictures:
Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/01.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/02.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/03.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/04.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/05.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/06.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/07.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/08.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/09.jpg
Image

Large photo: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/1U/10.jpg
Image

if you have also some experience with 1RU / 2RU solutions we will be glad if you will share it :)
Best Regards,
Filip Vojsovic
https://youtu.be/s7rj9TJpFvw - Our system integration in CzechTV Brno
Broadcast technology, on-air graphics systems, SQL databases, visual basic, C#
Expert in Grassvalley products: K2, Stratus
LAWO VSM
Orad: Morpho3D, 3DPlay
Avid: Avid MC
User avatar
Vojsooo
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 09 Jun 2014, 16:47
Location: Slovakia, Bratislava

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby itod » 07 Nov 2016, 13:35

Vojsooo wrote:I saw few topics about rackmount solutions for CasparCG. Many of you is looking for 1U solution, for example. I would like to share my experience with Supermicro server. We bought this server for our lab. We are still testing lot of hardware which can be used for CasparCG. The tests with this specific server are succesfull, till today.


Thanks a lot for this info, was looking for optimal 1RU configurations for CasparCG. If others have some experience with this please share.
itod
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 29 Oct 2011, 20:54

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby alace » 08 Nov 2016, 17:35

Hi Vojsooo,
I'd know which OS is using on this server.
I'm intrested to try casparCG on 2RU HP server.
Thanks a lot!

Anto
alace
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 18 Jun 2014, 11:01

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Vojsooo » 09 Nov 2016, 07:51

Hi Alace,
Here we are using Windows 7 PRO 64bit. This system is recommended. We are testing also classic workstation HP Z440 with Win10 64 bit and it is without problems.

About 1 / 2 RU servers... First we wanted to do the tests with HP servers (proliant). But the problem is, that this servers are supporting primary "Windows Server" editions (or Linux). We never tried it with this system. Maybe in short time. I think HP has some rackmount server which is supporting Win 7 but this specific server was very expensive. If someone knows some HP server wih win 7 support let me know please :)

we tried also 2 RU Dell server, but they have some problems with Blackmagic cards. It was still about bluescreen etc etc... sometimes the card was not loaded in the system etc...

Supermicro is currently the system which is working well.

Bellow are the pictures of Dell server (it is maybe 1,5 year ago. This server was not working well.)

Larger picture: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/dell/01.jpg
Image

Larger picture: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/dell/02.jpg
Image

Larger picture: http://filipvojsovic.sk/caspar/dell/03.jpg
Image


Filip
Last edited by Vojsooo on 09 Nov 2016, 08:21, edited 1 time in total.
https://youtu.be/s7rj9TJpFvw - Our system integration in CzechTV Brno
Broadcast technology, on-air graphics systems, SQL databases, visual basic, C#
Expert in Grassvalley products: K2, Stratus
LAWO VSM
Orad: Morpho3D, 3DPlay
Avid: Avid MC
User avatar
Vojsooo
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 09 Jun 2014, 16:47
Location: Slovakia, Bratislava

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Jesper Stærkær » 09 Nov 2016, 08:20

Thank you so much for posting this.
Jesper Stærkær
Independent Consultant at SuperFly.tv
User avatar
Jesper Stærkær
 
Posts: 847
Joined: 13 Apr 2010, 18:06
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby emisiona » 09 Nov 2016, 13:44

Thanks a lot for sharing this info. The chassis fits two full height PCIe, I love it!
User avatar
emisiona
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 27 Jun 2014, 09:45
Location: Barcelona

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Vojsooo » 09 Nov 2016, 14:42

No problem guys.
We have just one complication with our supermicro machine. Power supply does not include G1 connector (6pin) which is important if you want to use graphic card which require additional power (Quadro K4200). Quadro K2200 does not require this power.
https://youtu.be/s7rj9TJpFvw - Our system integration in CzechTV Brno
Broadcast technology, on-air graphics systems, SQL databases, visual basic, C#
Expert in Grassvalley products: K2, Stratus
LAWO VSM
Orad: Morpho3D, 3DPlay
Avid: Avid MC
User avatar
Vojsooo
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 09 Jun 2014, 16:47
Location: Slovakia, Bratislava

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby jondezwaan » 11 Nov 2016, 08:42

There are molex to 6 pin cables in order to power your GPU, but haven't got any experience with it, so I don't have any numbers about enough amperage or watts.
jondezwaan
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 04 Sep 2015, 08:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Helge Norberg » 31 Jan 2017, 15:02

We at SVT have also been testing the
http://www.supermicro.com/products/syst ... R-WC0R.cfm (the same motherboard as Vojsooo has)
...and the
https://www.supermicro.nl/products/syst ... 18R-WR.cfm (same motherboard but shorter depth case)
...for a while now with K2200 and Decklink Quad 2 and it works equally well as with the same setup in a Z440. The only thing we don't like is that we get an error in the Windows Event Viewer at every startup:
Driver PCI returned invalid ID for a child device (0000000101000A3500)


I have open issues at Blackmagic and Supermicro regarding this, so we will see if they can find the problem. The error only appears when the Decklink Quad 2 is in the system, so it is somehow caused by the combination of the motherbard/riser card and Quad 2.

We have seen no indication that the error actually is something to worry about, but it feels better with no errors.
Helge Norberg
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 01 Jun 2012, 13:42

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Helge Norberg » 31 Jan 2017, 15:16

A completely different Supermicro setup that would also be interesting to test is:

Motherboard:
http://www.supermicro.com/products/moth ... SSV-M4.cfm
With soldered on Intel Xeon E3-1515M v5 processor with build in Intel Iris Pro Graphics P580

Chassis:
https://www.supermicro.nl/products/chas ... SC504-203B

Riser:
RSC-RR1U-E16
MCP-120-00063-0N

1U I/O-shield for motherboard:
MCP-260-00066-0B

Video card:
Decklink Duo 2

As far as I understand there is only room for 1 2.5" disk when using the PCIe expansion slot, so it might be wise to use that space for a media SSD and use a
http://www.supermicro.nl/products/nfo/SATADOM.cfm
..for the system disk.

This setup would greatly resemble the NUC Skull Canyon + external thunderbolt case with Duo 2 inside as Olle has built, but with everything inside one chassis.
Helge Norberg
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 01 Jun 2012, 13:42

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Jesper Stærkær » 31 Jan 2017, 15:19

Oh, great setups. Thank you for sharing!
Jesper Stærkær
Independent Consultant at SuperFly.tv
User avatar
Jesper Stærkær
 
Posts: 847
Joined: 13 Apr 2010, 18:06
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby didikunz » 31 Jan 2017, 19:41

Helge, please post back when you were able to test this setup. That would be a very cool compact solution!
Didi Kunz
CasparCG Client-Programmer, Template Maker & Live CG-Operator
Media Support, CH-5722 Gränichen, Switzerland http://mediasupport.ch/
Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
User avatar
didikunz
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: 10 May 2010, 09:08
Location: Aarau, Switzerland

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server - Our experiences

Postby Helge Norberg » 01 Feb 2017, 10:55

There are currently no plans to buy it here at SVT, but it is nevertheless an interesting build (Supermicro can probably build it in this configuration, but they have no ready to buy SuperServer with this combo at this time) to try for anybody in the community.
Helge Norberg
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 01 Jun 2012, 13:42

Re: Supermicro 1U rackmount server Our experiences

Postby didikunz » 07 Apr 2017, 16:11

RomalaG.Lom wrote:Just wondering if there is a script or a program that can be downloaded in order to
host an multiplayer server on e.g. Linux/Windows


Sorry, can you open another tread for this? It's not related to the 1U rackmount server.
Didi Kunz
CasparCG Client-Programmer, Template Maker & Live CG-Operator
Media Support, CH-5722 Gränichen, Switzerland http://mediasupport.ch/
Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
User avatar
didikunz
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: 10 May 2010, 09:08
Location: Aarau, Switzerland


Return to Tech and Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests